Improving!! : )

Last night my nurse called it time to break out the Z-pak.  It was a wise call.  It got control of my raging fever, I slept much better last night, thus he did too, and I’ve been up most of today.  I’m still weak but as I am able to eat more I am gaining strength and so thankful!!  The children were so concerned about me and asking if I would be able to be in court on Thursday.  He assured them that yes, I would be there.  And I will!!

For those of you preparing to follow in this journey, may we advise you to make an addition to your endless list of things-to-do.  In the section labeled 14 Days Before Departure, please add this to the list…

Contact doctor to get prescriptions called in (for each person traveling) for Z-pak and Ci-Pro antibiotics, Anti-Diarrhea and Anti-Nausea (Phenergan) medications. 

While you are at the pharmacy, also pick up benedryl (if you are traveling home with a young child, it is a lifesaver on the long flight as they will sleep from Europe to the US!) and a generous supply of your pain medication of choice.  A family told us of buying two ibuprofen tablets here at a cost of $7 USD!!  The medical world in these countries is far different than what we know in the US.  Our experience with the little guy in the hospital in Kerch was eye-opening.  Be pro-active and travel as prepared and self-sufficient as possible. We shop in large, very modern stores in large cities and there is not one item related to health supplies; no band-aids, aspirin, nothing.  They are available only at the pharmacy.  The large stores are well supplied with the personal care items in most of the brands you are familiar with from the US (soap, shampoo, shaving cream, razor blades, etc.).

We also brought band-aids, triple antibiotic ointment, cough syrup, cough drops, tums, pepto-bismol, our daily vitamins and dozens of individually packaged antibacterial wipes for hand washing and travel size packages of tissues from Dollar Tree for toilet tissue.

We were glad we brought a few of the Wisp single use toothbrushes for use after meals in airports.

Pack all of these items in your carry-on bag, the large outer zip pocket of ours was perfect.

We are so thankful for that Z-pak and your many kind comments and prayers.  I have never had anything like this in my life so wonder if this is a different strain of the flu thus I had no immunity and got slammed so hard.  God has carried us every step of this journey and this is one more proof…His faithfulness to heal and provide for us.

No word yet on today’s paperwork submission or the time schedule related to that but we’ll keep you posted as we learn more.  And we’re in the 48 hour countdown to court for the 3 siblings…plenty to keep us on our knees and watching expectantly for the great things He will do!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Improving!! : )

  1. Cindy Noel says:

    I’m praying for your total recovery and for Thursday’s court session. May His strength and provision cover you both . . . cindy

  2. Kelly says:

    A favorite story I like to tell is of the day I received the court decree. Tori and the boys were already home and it was a long day driving around picking up documents, etc. About 11am we had been parked in front of the birth certificate office for a few hours. I looked behind me and I saw a word on a building that resembled Coffee. I told the driver I would be back and if our facilitator came out to tell her where I was. So I walked into the Kofe shop and there was one woman at a bar drinking a beer and another behind the counter. They looked at me like I was an alien. I courageously walked up to the woman behind the bar and in my best Russian asked for black tea and a bowl of soup, pashalsta. Staring in disbelief, she showed me to a table and within a few minutes I had a piping hot cup of tea and a homemade bowl of chicken noodle soup. About the time I was done, my facilitator walked in and started talking to me. Immediately the ladies starting talking- yelling- to the facilitator in very fast paced Russian. If I had to guess, they were saying, “who is this guy, is he with you, who does he think he is ordering soup, i, yea, i yea…” They were relieved, I think, to learn that I was with someone Ukrainian and then they laughed at my bravado of walking in and ordering soup.

    I know it gets boring in the evening, so enjoy the story. The lack of soup made me think of this. Prayers and blessings, of course.

    • Us says:

      Love It!! And your courage.
      It is cool to think that was in Donetsk, likely just a few minutes from where I sit typing. Amazing that we prayer walked that journey with you so few months ago and now you are praying it through with us. We are so grateful.

  3. Sorry to hear you’ve been sick! We pack a medicine bag every time we come to Ukraine (this is our 4th trip: 2004, 2005, 2009, 2011) but have never brought Z-pak or other antibiotics. Thankfully, we’ve never needed them either! I did bring some for our daughter this time just in case. We did give our daughter Benadryl on the ocean flight last adoption, and she only slept an hour. Better than nothing though!

    Praying you feel 100% soon and that court goes well tomorrow! We just had court today (and we’re nearby) so give us a ring if you feel like it! Our number is listed at the top of our blog. Blessings!

  4. Holly Bollinger says:

    So sorry to hear you are sick. Praying for your health and your court date! “His heart is steady; he will not be afraid, until he looks in triumph on his adversaries.” Psalm 112:8.

    Love you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

